Caribbean Dancers Marching in the Parade

Parade Program

Current as of: July 1, 2018.


Assembly is at 9:00 a.m. along Carroll Avenue. See Parade Assembly Map for more on this. The parade will start at 10:00 a.m. from the intersection of Carroll and Ethan Allen Avenues, travel South on Carroll Avenue, turn right on Maple Avenue and continue to Ritchie Avenue where the parade will disband. Parade units will be judged throughout the line of march rather than at the reviewing stand.


Steve Hoffman & Dianne Bradley of WOWD/Takoma Radio


Leading the way is this year’s Grand Marshal, the City’s new Police Chief Antonio “Tony” DeVaul, who dreams of changes to guide policing to higher levels through the 21st century. Chief DeVaul grew up in Takoma Park and is a lifelong Montgomery County resident. Dedicated to community policing, he is committed to increasing transparency between the police department and city residents, and building strong relationships with local community members and institutions.


Gene Herman & David Cohen


Director - Chief James E. Jarboe, TPVFD

Reviewing Stand

Takoma Park Community Band


Directors - Julius Kassovic, Andy Saindon, and Jessica Snowden
  1. Police Escort
  2. Takoma Park Police Department Color Guard
  3. Takoma Park Junior Explorers Post 7500
  4. Grand Marshal
  5. Chief Antonio DeVaul, Takoma Park Police Department
  6. Corporal Michal Godlewski, Takoma Park Police Officer of the Year 2017
  7. Hon. Sheila E. Hixson, Maryland State Delegate
  8. Hon. Isiah Leggett, Montgomery County Executive
  9. Hon. Nancy Floreen, Montgomery County Council (At-Large)
  10. Dr. Weymouth Spence, President, Washington Adventist University
  11. Ms. Rose Melendez, Director of Nursing Administration and Emergency Department, Washington Adventist Hospital
  12. Hon. Kate Stewart, Mayor, City of Takoma Park
  13. Takoma Park City Council
  14. Hon. Peter Kovar, Ward 1
  15. Hon. Cindy Dyballa, Ward 2
  16. Hon. Kacy Kostiuk, Ward 3
  17. Hon. Terry Seamens, Ward 4
  18. Hon. Jarrett Smith, Ward 5
  19. Hon. Talisha Searcy, Ward 6
  20. Mr. Pat Loveless, Takoma Park Peace Delegate
  21. Principal Renay Johnson, Montgomery Blair High School
  22. Principal Zadia Gadsden, Takoma Park Elementary School
  23. TPIDC Roscoe Float — our thanks to our major contributors
  24. Uncle Sam
  25. The MacMillan Pipe Band
  26. Takoma Park Volunteer Fire Dept & Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service personnel assigned to Station #2


Director - Emily Stevenson
  1. Vietnam Veterans of America Chapter 641 Silver Spring MD
  2. Freemasons of the Takoma Masonic Center
  3. Takoma Park Child Development Center
  4. Doggie Washerette
  5. Baltimore Twilighters Marching Band
  6. Karla Silvestre for Board of Education At-Large
  7. Long Branch Water Wizards Swim Team
  8. Greenbelt Dog Training Marching Drill Team
  9. Ms. Senior Maryland USA 2018
  10. The Morning Few Band


Director - Carter Dougherty
  1. Christ Embassy
  2. Takoma Children’s School
  3. Congressman Jamie Raskin
  4. Daleview Swim Club
  5. Kids Bike Decoration and Ride
  6. Reel Mower Precision Drill Team
  7. Marc Elrich for County Executive
  8. Paw Prints Around Town
  9. The Squid Squad
  10. Boy Scouts of America Troop 33 and Cub Scouts Pack 33
  11. Wells Warrior Youth Hockey Association
  12. The Baltimore Headliners


Director - Ed Koren
  1. Northwest Branch Dolphins
  2. Girl Scouts Council of the Nation’s Capital Service Unit 34-8
  3. Lynn Amano for Board of Education
  4. Image Band
  5. Intergalactic Female Motorcycle Federation
  6. Anwar Temple #219
  7. EF International Language Center
  8. TPSS Co-op
  9. Takoma Park Department of Public Works
  10. Takoma Park’s Mediocre Kinetic Sculpture
  11. First Panamanian Marching Band of Maryland


Directors – Joelle Rabion and Duncan Robinson
  2. Tom Hucker for County Council
  3. Cislin Duncan Foundation
  4. Vanadu
  5. State Senator Will Smith
  6. Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins (D-20)
  7. Delegate David Moon
  8. Friends of Lorig Charkoudian
  9. Mass Destruction Marching Unit
  10. Montgomery County Green Party
  11. The Silver Spring Yacht Club
  12. Zydeco Cowboys and Cowgirls
  13. The Village of Takoma Park


Directors - Phillip Kovnat and John Reed
  1. Royal International Miss
  2. Panquility Steel Band
  3. Metropolitan Metrolite Pathfinder Club
  4. Takoma Horticultural Club
  5. MoCo East mini s’MORES
  6. Dreamers in Bloom
  7. Washington Revels
  8. Robin Ficker for Montgomery County Executive
  9. Combat Veterans Motorcycle Association Maryland Chapter 40-1


Director - Jared Garelick
  1. Motor Driven Band
  2. Mecca Temple No. 10
  3. CleanChoice Energy
  4. Will Jawando for County Council
  5. The Ritchie Citizens Association
  6. Tifereth Israel Congregation
  7. The Kirk Family’s 1930 Ford Model A Tudor Sedan
  8. Takoma Park Lesbians and Gays (TPLAG)
  9. Takoma Park Lions Club Mascot
  10. Thatʼs All Folks - Gene Herman & David Cohen, Parade Directors


A panel of residents, business owners, and others affiliated with Takoma Park.


Takoma Park Independence Day Committee extends its gratitude and appreciation to all those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this Independence Day Celebration possible:

  • Takoma Park Mayor & Council, Police Department, Public Works Department, City Clerkʼs Office, Administration Offices, Treasurerʼs Office and Recreation Department
  • Washington, D. C. Police Department
  • The Montgomery County Police Department
  • Takoma Park Volunteer Fire Department
  • Takoma Park Cable TV
  • Takoma Park Community Band
  • Takoma Park Seventh-day Adventist Church
  • Our door-to-door financial support solicitors and volunteers
  • Our many parade participants
  • Kathie Mack (door-to-door collections in PEN area)
  • Franklin Apartments
  • Mar Thoma Church of Greater Washington
  • The professional people, business establishments, churches, schools, local organizations, and countless area residents for their financial support.


  • Ron Colbert, 1980 Silver T-Top Corvette
  • Roger Coleman, 1966 Chevy Corvette
  • eMotion Rentals
  • Mr. Anthony Fotos, 1946 Lincoln Continental, 1949 Lincoln Cosmopolitan, 1956 Buick, 1936 Boattail Speedster, Jaguar
  • Gerald Kaiz, 1960 Plymouth Fury Convertible
  • Erwin Mack, 1909 Ford Model T Touring Car
  • Sean Parler, 1968 Cutlass Convertible
  • The Potomac Classic Thunderbird Club, Classic Chevrolet El Camino
  • Mr. Lynn E. Rumble, 1977 Chevy Nova Concourse
  • Mr. Milford Sprecher, 1928 Ford Model A Roadster